Nvidia DisplayPort 1.3/1.4 Firmware fix

Use this forum to discuss about Science, Space exploration, Computers, New gadgets...

Moderators: jay, thecaretaker, inspector, Dragonrider

Post Reply
User avatar
thecaretaker
Forum Administrator
Forum Administrator
Posts: 5411
Joined: Fri, 15th Jun 2001, 1:00pm
Jun 2021 05 10:08

Nvidia DisplayPort 1.3/1.4 Firmware fix

Nvidia says:

To enable the latest DisplayPort 1.3 / 1.4 features, your graphics card may require a firmware update.

Without the update, systems that are connected to a DisplayPort 1.3 / 1.4 monitor could experience blank screens on boot until the OS loads, or could experience a hang on boot.

The NVIDIA Firmware Updater will detect whether the firmware update is needed, and if needed, will give the user the option to update it.

If you are currently experiencing a blank screen or hang on boot with a DP 1.3 or 1.4 monitor, please try one of the following workarounds in order to run the tool:
  • Boot using DVI or HDMI
  • Boot using a different monitor
  • Change boot mode from UEFI to Legacy; or Legacy to UEFI.
  • Boot using an alternate graphics source (secondary or integrated graphics card)
Once you have the tool downloaded, please run the tool and follow the on-screen instructions.

Supported Products:

NVIDIA TITAN Series: TITAN X (Maxwell), TITAN X (Pascal), TITAN XP

GeForce 10 Series: GeForce GT 1030, GeForce GTX 1050, GTX 1050Ti, GTX 1060, GTX 1070, GTX 1070Ti, GTX 1080, GTX 1080Ti

GeForce 900 Series: GeForce GTX 950, GTX 950Ti, GTX 960, GTX 970, GTX 980, GTX 980Ti

GeForce 700 Series: GeForce GTX 745, GTX 750, GTX 750Ti

Quadro Series: Quadro GP100, Quadro P6000, Quadro P5000, Quadro P4000, Quadro P2000, Quadro P1000, Quadro P620, Quadro P600, Quadro P400, Quadro M6000 24GB, Quadro M6000, Quadro M5000, Quadro M4000, Quadro M2000, Quadro K2200, Quadro K1200, Quadro K620, NVS 810

64-bit (x64) download
32-bit (x86) download

Vérité Sans Peur
(Truth Without Fear)
User avatar
Keyolder
Registered Member
Registered Member
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sat, 24th Jan 2009, 12:28am
Jun 2021 06 09:30

Re: Nvidia DisplayPort 1.3/1.4 Firmware fix

I should really update the graphics card in my desktop machine, it must be at least 15 years old. No new drivers for at least the last decade and it was a cheap and cheerful Nvidia card back then.
-Scared.png-
I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy every minute of it... -Crazy.png-
User avatar
UnderPaid
Registered Member
Registered Member
Posts: 1162
Joined: Thu, 19th May 2016, 3:30pm
Jun 2021 07 11:45

Re: Nvidia DisplayPort 1.3/1.4 Firmware fix

Keyolder wrote: Sun, 6th Jun 2021, 9:30am I should really update the graphics card in my desktop machine, it must be at least 15 years old. No new drivers for at least the last decade and it was a cheap and cheerful Nvidia card back then.
-Scared.png-
Good luck, top end GPUs are like rocking horse droppings at the moment.
When you are dead, you do not know you are dead. It's only painful & difficult for others. The same applies when you are stupid.
User avatar
Duncan
Registered Member
Registered Member
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon, 6th Jun 2016, 6:26am
Jun 2021 21 11:08

Re: Nvidia DisplayPort 1.3/1.4 Firmware fix

Another thing to be aware of is the cable i have a acer z35p monitor i got nrly 4 years ago after 8 months i had a problem with it returned it and they replaced to full panel jump to about 5 months ago monitor went again of course out of warranty.
The full screen had rows of transparent circles, so i ended up buying a new 34 inch monitor, over the weekend i took it to a friend he hooked it up through a hdmi because he had no display port cable and it was fine no problems back to normal i took it home connected it to a newer display port cable and it works again no problem. I looked all over the internet to find a fix but there was nothing to these circles on the screen i even contacted acer to price up a panel £750 they wanted for it i told them i had already replaced to monitor at a lot cheaper cost so now i have a spare 34inch lenova gaming monitor and im back on my trusty acer predator 35 inch z35p.
After all the messing it was the displayport cable that was the problem and nothing else so always have a spare cable.
Post Reply