Just half a day

The forum home for retired Caretakers. Share your thoughts about retirement and get advice...

Moderators: inspector, Dragonrider, jay, thecaretaker

cockneychris
Registered Member
Registered Member
Aug 2021 30 20:10

Just half a day

By 12o/c tomorrow I will be officially retired. I feel a bit apprehensive for the new guy, as I am a premises manager and he will be employed as a caretaker/cleaner in charge, but I can see them trying to get him to do the same work as me for the lower pay. Still by 1 minute past 12 I wont have any say in it. We moved to a little village in Suffolk at the end of July and I have been travelling down for two weeks after my two weeks personal holiday. The funny thing is that I don't think I will miss it much even though I have loved working here and the staff and head have been great. I think it will be a load off of my shoulders to be honest. I will pop in here from time to time to see whats going but I'm sure the other half will have plenty for me to do.
Don't argue with fools! They'll bring you down to their level, then beat you with experience.
Caretakingpoet
Registered Member
Registered Member
Aug 2021 30 21:24

Re: Just half a day

Best of luck to you my friend, wish you every happiness for the future 👍👍👍
thecaretaker
Forum Administrator
Forum Administrator
Job Status: Retired Site Manager
Aug 2021 30 22:50

Congratulations on your retirement cockneychris.

It will take a while to come to terms with retirement, but I always say it was the best move I ever made.

When you no longer wake up early, you look at the clock and wonder where has the day gone and you can't remember what day of the week it is, then and only them can you officially say you can come to terms with retirement. [Big grin.png]

Vérité Sans Peur
(Truth Without Fear)
hotwheels
Registered Member
Registered Member
Aug 2021 31 07:50