Southern Independent Television

Discussion about Freeview, Freesat, Sky, Virgin Media, Streaming Services, DAB Radio...

Moderators: inspector, Dragonrider, jay, thecaretaker

thecaretaker
Forum Administrator
Forum Administrator
Job Status: Retired Site Manager
Mar 2022 24 01:09

Southern Independent Television

This is a project I had been working on for some time (14 years). When I was a lad, I couldn't wait to get home from school to watch children's programmes. In those days, TV didn't open up (start) until 4pm. Most of the day you had a testcard and music. At 10 to 4, I'd sit in front of the television waiting for it to open up and for programmes to start. You also had to give the TV set a little time to warm up.

Southern TV had what was called a start-up sequence which came on just before programmes started.

The music used for the start-up was called Southern Rhapsody and was composed by Richard Addinsell. However, the recording used for the Southern TV start-up wasn't by Richard Addinsell own orchestra. Apart from a few poor quality reel to reel video tape recordings taken from original broadcasts (VHS hadn't been invented then), I didn't think I'd ever learn who originally played the music or hear it again as I remembered it. But eventually, after approx 14 years of searching, I finally discovered that the original orchestra used for the original start-up sequence was The Eric Winstone Orchestra. Amazingly, back in the 60's, Southern TV allowed a record company to include the Southern Rhapsody music on an record album of other start-up music and thankfully, a copy of it survived all these years later, where I was able to purchase a copy of the original track and include it in my start-up simulation as I remember it as a child.