Council tax

This is the forum for residential Caretakers. Discuss your rights, Services, Rent, Moving home...

Moderators: jay, thecaretaker, inspector, Dragonrider

Buffer
Registered Member
Registered Member
Dec 2022 28 07:12

Re: Council tax

Martin wrote: 27th Dec 2022 at 11:42pm Hi all

Just a random question, the caretakers house is tied to my job and is essential as you will know for alarm activations etc, I have been doing it for 4 years now and have been paying council tax on the property but have heard that it should be tied into the schools council tax and because it is tied with the job I shouldn't be paying it.
Has anyone had similar experience or know about this?
I always paid council tax in the three houses I lived in these were in Kent, sussex and Surrey along with other bills except water.
Handyman
Registered Member
Registered Member
Job Status: Caretaker
Dec 2022 28 09:15

Never heard of this, would be brilliant if true. I have always had to pay council tax while living in the tied accommodation. If anything they have tried to overcharge me, they dropped it in the end, but attempted to make me pay council tax for the period between my predecessor moving out and me moving in.
"I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by." Douglas Adams [Like.png]

"If at first you don't succeed then skydiving isn't for you." Steven Wright [Thumb_up.png]
Keyolder
Registered Member
Registered Member
Job Status: Retired Site Manager
Dec 2022 28 12:07

Back in 2012 when single status reared its ugly head, our LEA decided in their infinite wisdom that all caretakers living in tied accomodation must start paying rent, council tax and all other utility bills. Prior to this it was considered as perks of the job to balance the low hourly pay rate and 24/7 on call security requirement of the job.