No choice but to quit

The forum to discuss work issues, Health and Safety, COSHH, Risk Assessments, Security...

Moderators: inspector, Dragonrider, jay, thecaretaker

Hedgehog
Registered Member
Registered Member
Job Status: Site Manager
May 2024 05 23:45

No choice but to quit

I work as a site manager and I have 2 maintenance staff working under me. One in particular has worked here for 18 months and has become a liability.
He can be lazy and his skills.are lacking somewhat.

This I can deal with, however he is also known for not doing what he is asked with tasks, refusing to stand in for cleaning assistance when we are short handed and cherry picking the jobs he wants to do.

An issue that did crop up occurred last week when he got right in my face and started kicking off about people not saying things to his face and that he wasn't going to clean as he is not an effin cleaner! This occurred after he didn't clean 3 rooms last week when we had 2 cleaners off.

I remained calm when he was being aggressive to my face and in front of some nursery staff and immediately informed my line manager.
Sadly it has been brushed off and seems he is getting away with it along with all the other things he gets away with.

I'm not happy with the way he behaved and I feel the workplace has now become uncomfortable. The lack of backbone from my manager has left me in an uncomfortable position.

I am therefore handing my notice in next week as while he remains in the job I can't work in these conditions.

Gutted in having to leave but my mental health can't take this.
AlboUnderhill
Registered Member
Registered Member
May 2024 06 10:48

Re: No choice but to quit

Sorry to hear this, I don't really have words of wisdom but just solidarity. Hopefully they'll wake up but I'd not be comfortable working in a place that brushed you off so quickly. Good luck
Don't ask me, I have no idea what I'm doing
Sparky
Registered Member
Registered Member
May 2024 06 12:32